Damn, those are some nice Tetons!

Hi everyone and TGIT (mainly because that means it’s ALMOST FRIDAY! OH YEAAAA!)!!!

I told you guys that I would be really bad at updating my #throwbackthursday posts and I really lived up to that expectation.  I will say though, I’ve been doing enough stuff recently that I feel like I haven’t really needed them.  On the other hand, my work is about to get crazy busy so unfortunately I wont have as much time to hike new places as I would like.  Anywho, onto better things.

My friend Carli & I hiking up the Tetons.
My friend Carli & I hiking up the Tetons.

This time I’m throwing it back to two years ago when I went to Wyoming for Camp Davis (my field camp which offers a field course required for a geology degree).  Basically you hike all over the place and learn how to map rocks in the field (something that is actually pretty difficult).  We went to so many amazing places and my post would end up being a million pages long, so I’m only going to talk about one place: the Tetons.  Michigan’s field camp is based in Jackson Hole (which is right next to the Tetons) so every class that Camp Davis holds eventually goes to the Tetons to do some hiking.  We didn’t map or actually do any work for my course when we visited here, it was just a scenic part of my class and it was awesome.  I think we did this after 3 big mapping projects so we were all looking for a short break.

I can’t remember the name of the trail we took (I want to say it was some sort of canyon trail) but it was eventually going to the famous saddle.  It was a pretty rough hike (at the time at least, now it’s what I normally do) that climbed about 2000 ft.  I can’t remember the mileage.  Once we got up pretty high, towards the boulder fields, some wicked looking clouds rolled in very fast, so we all had to end up high-tailing it down the mountains fast.  It started sprinkling on us a little on our run down but that was the worst.  We were lucky that we left when we did though because we could see the lightning and and hear the thunder on our way down and it looked and sounded awful.  After that we were heading to Yellowstone (which I’ll post about later) and stopped by the ginormous Jackson Lake that sits next to the Tetons.  In my opinion, this offers the most scenic views of the Tetons.  It’s still one of my favorite pictures to this day.  Enjoy!

Until next time,

lauren

One thought on “Damn, those are some nice Tetons!

Leave a comment